Beginning Development...

bat

This week I graduated with my second degree (this time in web programming) and I have this site to thank for helping me make the decision to go back to school.
After I graduated with my art degree, I found my way here and was advertising my services as a VPS artist. Since the early neopets days I've always wanted to have a VPS of my own, but back end development always seemed like something that I would never be able to understand. I instead wanted to settle for trying to work on the art team / freelancer for other Game Owner's VPS. However, seeing others here developing their own sites from a beginner level and helping each other out made me realize that I too could learn!

Now I can do art, front end development, and back end development. I can move forward with my dream of making my own VPS!
Thanks, TGL for inspiring me to go back and learn programming. 💖

spacer.png

Now, unfortunately, the only thing standing in my way from moving forward is the backlog of commission work I've accumulated over the last two months because of school. 😅 But as soon as I'm caught up I plan on diving into official development!!
I don't plan on doing any creative planning for a while, and instead want to build a sort of strong backbone of code/database first before I start to think about the creative direction of the game. For other game owners/those with experience, I am wonder what is the best thing to start with in development regarding code/database structure?

• Like 4

Firstly <3 I'm really happy we inspired you in this way!