Can anyone recommend a good tablet to look at purchasing?

Digital

Thanks to @Pepper-Head, @runeowl, and @runeowl's wonderful replies to:

The next logical question is what tablet or choice of tablet would you recommend to a complete newbie like me? I would be looking for something totally affordable, at this point in time, quality isn't terribly large as long as it is reasonable. Again, I am not a full out artist, so I am not going to be beating it to death, but casually using it to practice on occasion.

Well, I like the one I use the most which is the Intuos wacom, size medium. It's about the size of a standard notebook. I think anything bigger might be a bit troublesome to a newbie, and the same for something smaller. This one at least is about the same size of a piece of paper turned sideways.

• Like 1

I second what @Aminirus says - I started off with an Wacom Bamboo tablet (the really old one, like seven years ago old) and then moved to a Intuos Pro Medium. If I didn't break it during a dorm move I'd stick with it; sure you still need to practice hand-eye coordination drawing but it's versatile enough for most kinds of work. :) 

I wouldn't recommend a cintiq unless you're serious about going into the industry or just want to make your art process faster - I now use a cintiq for those reasons and I don't regret it, but the price tag for it is expensive. To me it's worth it since I can produce an artwork within 2~ hours with a cintiq that used to take me 5+~ hours - but just starting off I'd advise against getting a top of the line cintiq tablet.