What keeps you focused in writing?

I wouldn't consider myself an actual writer, so to speak, however I find taking regular breaks and not bothering to try too hard if my mind's elsewhere is the best way to stay focused with a clear sense of purpose. Also, maintaining a constant awareness of format, purpose and audience should help too. Perhaps try having a couple of post-it notes around with some ideas around those 3 topics before writing may help?

Any other advice?

All good ideas from Callum.

I'm by no means a professional writer myself. I find it helpful to let my writing sit overnight or days (maybe longer). Then I come back and read through to see if it withstands the test of time. 

Although I have been paid for my writing and editing, I don't consider myself a professional.

Cal's suggestions are spot on, and understanding your purpose is vital. Who is your audience? What tone do you want to convey? How much space do you need to fill? Ask yourself LOTS of questions about why you are writing.

Sometimes I will just start off in a stream-of-consciousness manner, getting the basic thoughts down. Then I start to refine it, add details, subtract others. Move paragraphs around. Always keep the inverted pyramid in mind. Try to avoid repetition, whether it is words, sentence structure or length. Use active verbs and avoid passive voice. Always step back from it and return with fresh eyes. The best writer is also a good editor.

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...