Building a Team

Hasi

For current developers,

• How long was it before you started building a team?
  • Did you start alone or with multiple developers?
  • What skills did you hold as an individual?
  • Did you find it difficult to build a team in the beginning?
  • What convinced others to join you in the beginning stages (passion, personal development, income)?
  • Any tips for early stage developers (with regards to team building or running a team)?

Thank you~

• Like 1

I actually work alone for the most part; I just started getting volunteers when I made a post about it a little while ago. I've been working on Foodbabs for 2 years (3 once October finishes out), so how early you build a team depends one your needs and personal abilities.

I would say to always check on those you plan on picking. Look for examples and references of their work. If they were previously hired (which not everyone is), talk to whoever hired them to get an idea of their work ethic.

I have not really built a team. It's mostly myself, but my husband is also working on taking on more game responsibilities as well (including learning programming). 

For animal acres I have had a mod team but the game came with them. And they were just volunteers so I didn't have much expectations on them. I also had someone do some volunteer work on Eliyo before which was from passion on there part. They just asked if they could help I said, well actually I could use help with this if you are able. Gave them some site credits in return. Was pretty nice really.

And right now I also primarily work with the same artist since we have been working together for both our games, programming to art trade and that's been nice but for most part I just say hey this is what I need can you do it?