Using a mouse over an art tablet, thoughts?

Digital

So this is for some of our artists, such as @kami, @LIZ, @Aminirus, @Pepper-Head, and really anyone else who has thoughts.

I have my mouse, I am not really an artist (I frankly struggle with most things art outside of simple things). Do art tablets really provide value or improve one's art, or they just a tool that make existing talent better? Is it worth it for someone like myself, who is really an artist, and may dally in it casually to purchase one, or just keep using a mouse?

I would highly recommend a tablet to anybody who wants to draw digitally. Without it, it's like drawing without a tool. (And instead you're trying to hold onto a broken piece of graphite haha.) I used to draw with a mouse for 2 years and BOY my improvement spiked as soon as I switched to a tablet.

That being said, it is certainly possible to produce some great things with a mouse. But it's going to be a fight since you'd be missing a lot of pen pressure sensitivity and ease of workflow that a tablet provides. And there'd still be limitations that would require awkward and time extensive workarounds to get to what a tablet could do in seconds.

Good drawing tablets can be as low as $60, and actual tablets (androids, apple, etc) are getting a lot better. One of my roommates had a nice sensitive stylus with extra nibs for like $10 from Amazon. Art doesn't have to be expensive, but if you ever try to buy other mediums (pastel, good colored pencils, acrylic, etc) that cost could be about the same anyway.

@Digital I know you were tinkering with pixel art before! I actually prefer my mouse for pixel work, it feels much more careful and precise, at least to me.  :) 

• Like 1

Well, I can tell you, I tried drawing with just a mouse before... it didn't end well...nope.... not well at all. It literally looked like I went back to preschool with art.