The backend technology choice discussion!

Digital

So this is the discussion that everyone loves to have, but is usually one where the answer is always "Use what works best for you and your project."

What do you prefer to use for your game's backend? Why did you choose it? What features did it give you that you didn't have with other solutions? What do you like about your choice over others? What do you not like about your choice? If you have completed your project, would you have chosen different now?

• 3 weeks later...

Currently have a game in development, and my choice for server side code is PHP + Laravel. I've been a web dev for many years and I prefer this setup partially because it's the most comfortable for me, but also because I've found it to be a nice balance of fast development with not a lot of bugs. I like Ruby on Rails but it can get too automagickal for me. It can be nice, but it's not a lot of fun when things start going wrong, plus I've found it to be much more painful to deal with Ruby that's 5+ years old vs. PHP. 

• Like 1

Another vote for PHP and Laravel.

As for why I picked PHP, just one I was always interested in and very big. It had been around a while and wasn't going away anytime soon. And I actually really like PHP. I started programming with C++ then Java in college, and in contrast PHP being loosely typed is kind of nice. I especially like PHP arrays, just throw whatever in it as needed.

As for why I chose Laravel. Well I knew I wanted to use a framework for my project. And did some research, checked out a few options, but ultimatally went with Laravel. It was still newer at the time but gaining popularility, but it was just nice, attractive, easy to use, eloquent (it's object relational mapper - ORM) seemed awesome, and had everything I was looking for in a framework. 

I have Eliyo on Laravel and would not go back on that. I would definitely chose Laravel again for similar projects in the future.