How to name a game?

Nate

Hey!

Ive been working on the concept for my game for about 7 years, I've started, stopped and recoded 3 times, and now since June 2015 I've been properly working on developing it, and I think I'm going to be happy to release it later this year. 

My current 2 drawbacks are the Art (I'm going to need to find someone) and the Name. I've spent hours trying to decide a name for my game, but so far I'm not finding anything that really sparks for me. 

i was wondering if anyone knows any good resources for this type of thing that might help me, or future owners who are researching this subject?

Edited by Nate.Tube

That's a long time to be concepting!

It would help to know the underlying story/theme/premise of your concept is? These are generally good starting points for naming things but would also help narrow down what sources to recommend, etymology and exploring other languages  is also a fun way to come up with something interesting. 

• Like 1

I think I concepted my own game for about 3 years, but even after that, I don't think the job is ever done. There's always new and different things you end up coming up along the way. I did the concept, artwork, and writing for my own game and had to hire a coder. It's still a work in progress but we're getting somewhere, little by little.

As for naming, I find it easiest to start with something that is related to your game. Maybe it takes place in the wilderness or the city, or is futuristic. Maybe there's a hero in it or maybe it focuses on the villain. I think the best thing for games is to create a name where once someone reads it, they can get a slight feel as to what its about. I tend to aim for titles that sound interesting and different but also don't sound like they are another shooter or horror game.