Opinions on a semi "open source" Game Development.

Callum

Now I am not very experienced and may be making incorrect assumptions so do correct me if doing so here.

But how would you feel about contributing to the development of an online open source game? I mean with art or programming mostly. Would it work or would styles clash too much?

Each area would have a general manager and an overall manager to oversee the development meaning all contributions would need to be tested and approved before being implemented. The actual owner would be responsible for paying costs etc.  but obviously not to artists and programmers.

Would there not be a big enough incentive to help or what? Just floating an idea.

It could definitely be successful, and if managed well (as management would be the key factor here), then you wouldn't have issues like styles clashing, multiple people doing the same job inadvertently, etc.

As for my personal interest in contributing to one, it would greatly depend on what the game was and whether or not it seemed like a project I would want to support. I'm definitely not against assisting in open source projects though.

I'm unsure as to what you mean by "semi" with your title, however. What aspect were you thinking of being closed?

2 hours ago, Callum said:

ously not to artists and programmers

Why "obviously" not? The artists and programmers could be paid if that's how the circumstances worked out. Just because it'd be open source doesn't mean people would have to work for free. It just means that the work produced is licensed under some kind of CC for the public.

• Like 1