What do/did you study?

Callum

So what did you study at sixth form or university or college? I studied Law, History, English and Business and hated all of them so have dropped out and am hoping to do a Business Internship with recognised qualifications as of September.

I actually never completed any university level degree. I started learning programming as a teenager, and was fortunate enough (and stubborn enough to apply to over 200 job postings for entry level programmer positions) to land a job in my field before I gradiuated high school.

By the time I got to university or college, the hardest courses for associates degree in computer science was too easy (I got an A- without opening a book), and I could justify going through years of general courses for comp sci courses that gave me concepts that I already had.

As a note I am am not saying I am a prodigy, I was lucky to have learned a lot from a great mentor during my first job that taught me that all programming and software engineering is pattern and concepts. Learn those and everything else falls together.

I'm currently working on my BFA in Illustration. Art is another one of those things that you don't need a degree in and the cost is pretty steep, but the access to great technology, knowledgeable and helpful professors, and endless employer visits and workshops help to justify the cost (scholarships help too haha). I've improved leaps and bounds and I'm hoping that takes me far when it comes time to employment!

• Like 1

I'm not in college anymore, but most of the time I just study or research things on my own anyway, even when I was in college. :P Currently I'm going pretty hard core in Japanese. I took several courses in college, but I didn't stick with it and it just wasn't a great time for me. I've gotten newfound motivation this year and have been studying every day, I'm pretty proud of myself :D 

• Like 2