frameworks? where to get started?

skellri

Hello!
I'm in search of uh...well a lot of information to be honest haha. I've got an idea I've been solidifying for a pet site, I'm an artist so the art part comes easily to me. However, due to a wrist injury that I've sustained, drawing is kind of impossible right now. So, I figured I could perhaps look into learning coding/programming to get some momentum elsewhere! I consider myself fairly adaptable for absorbing knowledge so I'm up for a challenge! I've built websites before, for myself (mainly my portfolio so its nothing spectacular and tbh I've since switched to wordpress for setting that up for the sake of ease as far as content management goes.)

My biggest question is as follows...are there any frameworks out there that are available? Doesn't have to be free. I'm more than willing to pay for such a thing if it exists.

My other big question is ...where should I start when it comes to learning what it takes to set up and run a pet site? As far as features goes, I'd consider Flight Rising and Lioden to be my favourite pet sites and providing the most inspiration to me!

I apologize for this topic being very broad, I know there's a lot that I have to learn but I'm primarily looking for a good push me in the right direction!

The two "big" pet game specific frameworks are Pet Game Framework for $300 and Mysidia Adoptables for Free. 
Personally I tried both and believe they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. 

I think the question of "where to start" is not one we can answer. 

You must ask yourself; what do you want to do

A good exercise is one that I've read from a business book. I don't remember the name, however. 
Anyway, the exercise; 

Grab a Sheet of Paper and make three columns; 

1.  What You Know How to Do 
  2. What You Don't Know How to Do, But Are Interested In Learning
  3. What You Don't Want to Do