Contracts 101

Pepper-Head

C1 by Pepper-Head
Making your own contract to outline expectations for both parties, as well as protect yourself and your assets.

DISCLAIMER: I'm not a lawyer and this isn't an exhaustive how-to. However, it's based off of information I've learned from someone who has made freelance illustrating their livelihood for decades. As such, this information is probably geared more towards artists, but you should be able to tweak it to fit your needs as a programmer, game owner, etc!

C5 by Pepper-Head

Anyone who is serious about freelancing or running a game and working with artists/programmers. Contracts can be part of a NDA (Non Disclosure Agreement), or separate documents. 

C2 by Pepper-Head

The goal is to try to cover all of your bases and eliminate possible gray areas. Be very specific with what art and rights you are granting so there aren't any questions down the line, and your work doesn't get used in an additional way that you didn't intend for it to be used (and didn't get paid for!)

---------

▸The first thing to distinguish as artists/game owners is if this is a work for hire job. If it is, you give up all rights for the illustration(s) you do (except your right to show it for portfolio or personal promotion, unless stated otherwise.) The best example is if you did something for Disney - they'd want EVERYTHING. It could also complicate things if you later decide to copyright the work.

Decide what rights you want to give. Commercial, global, web, print, promotional, etc etc etc. Specifcy and make sure, if possible, you keep rights to original work for portfolio and self promotion! Specify if you need credit and how that should be displayed.

▸Most professional illustrators charged based upon the artwork, and then additional fees for the usage. So if you draw an icon that becomes a logo and is printed on merchandise, you'll want to consider charging more than the flat rate for the item.